Skip to content

“Hey Lady… Hey Cripple. Whatever” Jerry Lewis got the job done, sorta

September 8, 2011

My friend sent me this interesting article about the Jerry Lewis Telethon. He thought it might make for an interesting blog. Let’s hope he’s right. Before I read the article, I decided to search my brain to determine if I had any factual knowledge of this event, to my surprise, not so much.

I must admit that I know little to nothing about the telethon. I did recall that it annoyed me as a child. Remember when there were only three channels on TV? A 24 to 48 hour show of people sitting on a set of risers talking on the phone was just too much for me, however noble the cause was, especially on a holiday TV watching weekend. But even at a young age it seemed like such a worthy cause with such a recognizable figurehead.

I think I remember watching a few “on the road” movies starring Jerry Lewis with my mom. I know his famous whinny line is “Hey Lady”. I know for some reason he has reach godlike status in France. And that’s about all I know about Jerry Lewis.

 Oh, I do have one Jerry’s Kid story. In college we were out one night shooting pool at a gay bar. I just wanted to make that statement for the shock value. A few of you will be surprised that I hung out at gay bars. But the majority of you, especially if you’ve seen my disability, will be mortified that I was actually trying to play pool. Amazing how one drink can make you feel like you can do anything.

 So this guy comes over and starts staring at me, which may have been more flattering in like a straight sports bar but… ugly girls can’t be choosers. We tried to ignore it. But he kept on staring, moving towards me, then suddenly says rather loudly… “Hey, your Jerry’s kid, did you get the money I sent? You are so damn cute.” It kind of made me laugh, although my companion was a bit less amused. My fan continued to go on and on about his donation, slowly inching  closer into our well marked personal space, now even offering to buy me a drink. The conversation escalated and my fan was asked to go away by my now irritated companion.

Luckily my fan’s drunken attention span was as short as a nat and when pointed in a different direction, he soon found other fixations. But for that moment, I was a Jerry’s Kid. Looking back on it, if I only knew that would be one of the last times I’d be called cute, offered a free drink by a stranger, I might have been a little more open, ya know. Cerebral Palsy.  Muscular Dystrophy. Whatever. I could have accepted the drink for people with disabilities in general. I’m just a fine negotiator like that.

Reading the article, I was very surprised to learn that for all the good the telethon has done and for all the money it has brought in, it has also raised much controversy over the years, starring Jerry Lewis. He has been accused of saying very inappropriate things. In 1973 he held up a child with Muscular Dystrophy and into the camera he says “God Goofed, and it’s up to us to correct his mistakes.” Another notable quote is “crippled children deserve pity.”

Really Jerry? I am the queen of humorous politically incorrectiveness, but even though the “god goofed” was made over 35 years ago. It made me cringe. And I’m usually un-cringable. Despite suggestions, pleads, and a few organized protests, Jerry continued his politically incorrectness throughout his hosting gig. The critics panned Jerry’s over the top crying behavior as he paraded kids across the stage, while sobbing and pleading for pledges. There were even critics within the Muscular Dystrophy Association. Some felt the telethon was a great misrepresentation of their clients, since 2/3’s of their members were adults. But in my opinion, the cruelest mistake Lewis’ kept making year after year was saying that “We are closer than ever to finding a cure.” There is no cure. Hearing this might give someone false hope, and that just seems unforgiveable. For as many of the years he was the host, he should have known the facts.

I have never met Jerry Lewis but I assume he’d fall into my “accepted” category. I think we all have someone like that in our lives. Maybe an elderly relative you grew up worshipping. When you were old enough to realize he was a stereo typing raciest, he already lived in your heart so you just grinned, bared it, and loved him just because with all of his faults, he truly loved you. I’m not saying it’s right, I’m saying it just happens.

I’m sure this will be a very unpopular opinion but except for the “finding a cure” comment, I’m not sure that he has really committed any deadly sin. He’s an actor whose performance accomplished the goal, and I assumed was invited back yearly bases.

But his reign has ended. I am glad that, for whatever reason, Jerry Lewis is no longer the host. I do think that people with Muscular Dystrophy deserve a more knowledgeable host who chooses his words more thoughtfully. But I can’t help but wonder if people tuned in year after year, to watch Jerry’s theatrics. If so, and if donations suffer, that would be the true tragedy.

P.S. Mr. Lewis, I personally am not that offended by” crippled children deserve pity”.  If you want to start your own telethon, something like “Crippled Adults deserved cushy, high-paid jobs” I’d be happy to be your poster middle-aged- adult.

8 Comments
  1. Uilim permalink

    Wahahahhahahahahahahhah

  2. Always remember zees, mes amis, Mons. Jerry “Louees” ees le Roi (King) de France, and you should “nevair, nevair” forget zees”!!! Vive la France et vive Mons. Jerry “Louees”!!!

  3. Denise permalink

    I am not at all surprised you hung out at gay bars. In fact, I doubt anyone from UST or familiar with that area of Houston would be surprised. Were there any bars or clubs nearby that weren’t gay? 😉

  4. I heard that MDA is phasing out the telethon altogether. They already shortened it from 22 hours to 6. And, by the way, they raised more money in 6 hours than they did last year in 22. ut that is really an inaccurate statement because I would say 90% of the money raised, is raised at fundraisers way before the telethon. All those people on the phones are just “Smoke and mirrors”. A trusted MDA source told me that every year Jerry caused some kind of embarrassing situation for which MDA had to do “damage control”. I didn’t miss him this year.

  5. pamici permalink

    Wonderful as always – and the coolest art ever!!

  6. Antonio permalink

    Jerry Lewis raised 2.6 Billion for MDA (IBTimes Staff Reporter | September 6, 2011). I understand that Lewis 85, andMDA wantsto rebrand, but a small ceremonial role would have been a betterway to go. A chain smoking old man isproably not the image they want. It washandled very poorly.

  7. I’m English so I wouldn’t have seen the telethon, but I did see films of Jerry Lewis when younger and thought him funny. Your blog gave me a new view on him and if you think about it he was part of an older America, 1950’s America, as satirised to to some extent in Happy Days, so his wors and thoughts fitted the zeitgeist of the 1950’s even decades later. I wouldn’t agree with his remarks either, but then as you say it’s like the loved relative who doesn’t know they are being rude. Good blog and interesting viewpoint on Jerry Lewis.

  8. As usual Claire, your candid sense of humour has put a smile on my face. Have a great day!

    ~Trish:-)

Leave a comment