Skip to content

Crip is not always a four letter word

September 22, 2011

     Despite my outgoing personality in my blog, I really don’t like upsetting or offending anyone. I personally think it’s a little sad that the older I get the less confrontational I am. Now my husband and his two buds might debate this, saying I have to argue about every movie choice and every rule to a game they seem to pull out of the air. And in that instance, I must confess I am an argument instigator just because they are so darn cute when they are at their wits end with me. It’s not a good game night until one of them yells at me. But generally speaking, I think I’m a bit co-dependent, and making everybody happy seems easier to deal with then trying to make my point.

     Kinda like asking “how are you?” Most people just want a simple, one word, positive answer. I take great comfort in the fact that I have two best friends I text a zillion times a day and they do not accept one word answers because they assume when I’m not ranting that I’m either, sad, mad, or depressed; like I’m that needy and predictable, whatever. (hubby says my “whatever” is my closing case in every losing argument…) Whatever!

     I have two requests from readers this week. Doesn’t that sound cool? I have readers. The first was to please consider writing a more serious blog about important disability topics. Ok, this was an easier one to turn down, because between us, that seems like actual work and planning and thinking, so absolutely not. That’s just crazy. I’m kidding. But in all honesty, in my life, I have so many voices that have to be censored to avoid conflict, I just enjoy writing a blog that is sort of my stream of consciousness. And if I can make a few people laugh maybe they will see more of me, and less of the steel framework around me.

     The other request made me cry. I was already having a bad day because I reacted too quickly to a situation that still had the potential to be salvage, but really hasn’t yet. Yes that was meant to be cryptic and to my husband who is still waiting for an apology, that’s about as good as it gonna get. But I digress. A reader asked if I would stop using the word “Crip” because it was what bullies called them in school.

     My initial reaction was of course. Because I do care about others and I know it sounds like a cliché but it does keep me up nights when I know I hurt someone’s feelings But after contemplating it, I wanted to explain why I probably won’t. Of course the word Crip is banished from my disability etiquette class and I’d never roll up to a stranger and yell “Whatssup crip” But this is my personal blog and I’m referring to myself as Crip, no one else. And since I am going through a midlife crisis, this is one of the kinder terms that bounce around in my head.

     I have a friend I made in college. He will probably be a pall bearer at my funeral. I’m not being morbid; I just mean he is one person I shall know for the rest of my life, even though our lives are not always in sync. I wish I could say we chat daily and text frequently, but we don’t, yet somehow our paths always meet at all the important crossroads, Christmases, weddings, and births of children. Besides that, not so much, we “like” the weirdest status comments on each others facebook pages. And oh yeah, he sings to me on my birthday, like clockwork. (yes, that was a shameless reminder.)

     We have really cute pet names for each other, he calls me Crip. And I call him… I call him… I actually can’t tell you what I call him. Because 99% of the world thinks it’s a derogatory term. And I’ve actually have never said it to anyone else. I told my son if he ever uses it, I’d wash his mouth out with soap. My husband once asked can he… I was mortified. No.

     But just between my buddy and I, “Crip” is a term of endearing love. The term reminds me that even if he’s 3,105 miles away, he was one of my first  friends who got my whole being, and for the most part, liked me, even or especially my dark-conflicting self-awareness side very few have seen, and most try to “fix”. And to have that kind of unconditional acceptance in a pet name is something I’m not willing to give up.

     I really do believe in freedom of speech, especially if I’m not poking fun at anyone but myself. I’ll never call anyone crip. Because most of the time it is use with malice, I will stand up to any bullies who are cruel. But for me, in my personal blog Crip is a term of endearment from friends who have seen both the best and worse in me, yet still like me. And that’s kinda cool. Just my thoughts, for I be Thecpchic.

11 Comments
  1. uilim permalink

    I win!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Some people are very sensitive. Some are just looking for offense everywhere. I thought it was pretty outrageous that the person the other day objected to you using the word for yourself on your own blog. It’s your word to use if you want to or not use if you don’t.

  3. Oh, and, it’s your blog, you write what you enjoy! There are blogs out there about serious disability issues. Bad Cripple, and Diary of a Goldfish come to mind. You are funny and that is a tremendous gift. I love to read your fun and silly and humorous posts. Do what you do best. 🙂

  4. Denise permalink

    Claire, I was in social services for a long time. I burnt out, not because of my clientele but because of the funding, bureaucracy, and the horrible way we were treated. I stayed in the field much longer than I should have and at the expense of my sanity BECAUSE I loved my clients and fely bad about leaving them in someone else’s bitter and uncaring hands. I was a case worker for developmentally disabled adults which includes the mentally retarded, autistic people, and people with cerebral palsy. It was my job to help them stay out of institutions and help them live as independently as possible. Most of my clients were high functioning, mentally retarded. I had a few with cp and a few lower functioning that lived in group homes, but most of my clients lived in their own apartments, had jobs, with the assistance of a supported living coach. I took my clients to a district hosted Halloween party one year, and two of my clients were approached by one of the bigwigs of Florida social services at that time and they chatted with her for quite a while. She came up to me and started telling me how impressed she was with my “gentlemen” and how they expressed nothing but love for me. Then she said, “Mr. K told me that you yell at them when they do stupid things and don’t let him use being a retard as an excuse.” I almost died and was expecting her to ream me out and demand my resignation right there. But she said she asked him to explain and he said, “Well if my apartment is dirty or I do something wrong, she lets me know. She isn’t afraid to yell at me if I need it, and she talks to us about normal things, and we can be ourselves and she still likes us.She treats me normal. I don;t like when people treat me like I am stupid, or are afraid to call me retarded. Its just a word, but I know what it means. Doesn’t bother me, why should it bother anyone else?” I was still nervous, and wanted to tell her I never ever called any of my clients a *retard*. But she laughed and shook my hand and said she wished more social workers were like me. My “gentlemen” started referring to themselves as Denise’s Retards after that. They loved it, felt like they had their own little club or something. Mr. K was right.. it is just a word. If you change it to mentallly challenged or mentally handicapped, it still means the same thing, and eventually those terms become stigmatized too. I wish people spent more time worrying about how to treat people with dignity and less time coming up with appropriate labels for them.

  5. pamici permalink

    Ditto to the above two posts. I found myself thinking, “name it and claim it” when I read your post. I hope you never censor yourself.

  6. Denise permalink

    love you too, Claire 😉 ❤

  7. I can appreciate the perspective of your reader who’s asked you to stop using the “crip” word. I too cringe just a little when I hear that word Claire but I fully respect your right to call yourself that on your own personal blog!

    Here’s to freedom of speech!

    Trish:-)

Leave a comment